As Good As It Gets

This morning I really wasn’t planning on making anything overly fancy. If I’m going to be honest I really just imagined myself making a nice bowl of oats and lea ving it at that. However, as soon as I turned on last nights recording of Vice (a documentary series that is probably the best thing on TV at the moment) I figured I would be in the kitchen for a while so I may as well mix things up a bit and step away from my usual oats. So instead I began making my toasted muesli, and began getting quite excited. While the muesli was in the oven  I began chopping up some nuts, and fruit and quickly realized that what I was going to end up with was something much more exciting than toasted muesli…..instead, I created possibly the most delicious breakfast I have ever made….

                   A Smoothie Bowl.

Toasted Muesli Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup chopped almonds

1/2 cup chopped cashews

1/2 cup dried diced apricots

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1/3 cup maple syrup

1/2 cup coconut

2 tablespoons vanilla

Directions: 

IMG_5405

Place the oats, dried fruit, nuts, and coconut in a large bowl and toss until combined

IMG_5408

IMG_5409

Pour in the maple syrup, and vanilla in to the dry ingredients and stir until evenly coated

IMG_5411

IMG_5417

Spread the mixture out on a lined baking tray and bake for 15 minutes on 175C or until golden

IMG_5419

Let cool

IMG_5426

Meanwhile I prepared everything else for the smoothie bowl

Toppings: 

Banana

Strawberries

Raspberries

Pomegranate

Passionfruit

Coconut

Roasted Buckwheat

Chopped Dark Chocolate

Slivered Almonds

Seed Mix

Goji Berries

2/3 Cups Toasted Muesli

IMG_5428

While making the smoothie I literally just forgot to take photos (sorry) but in the Magic Bullet (if you don’t have one use a blender) I made my raspberry and chocolate spiced almond smoothie

Ingredients: 

1 Cup Almond Milk

2 Cardamon Pods

1 Teaspoon Cinnamon

1/2 Teaspoon Nutmeg

1 Vanilla Bean (or 1 teaspoon vanilla extract)

4 Dates

Handful of Frozen Raspberries

1 Teaspoon Cocoa Powder

To construct the smoothie bowl I poured the smoothie in to a bowl and essentially piled on the toppings

IMG_5443

IMG_5470

With the smoothie bowl I had one of T2’s amazing blossom teas – probably the most beautiful looking tea I’ve ever had

IMG_5434

IMG_5440

Final Product:

IMG_5480

2 thoughts on “As Good As It Gets

Leave a Reply

