My Kind of Ice-Cream

For the last few days I’ve been house sitting, which meant that I didn’t have access to my kitchen (suffered from some serious withdrawals). So as can be expected, as soon as I got home I jumped straight back in to my cooking – and what better way to start than with some ice-cream.

The ice-cream maker bowl for my Kitchen-Aid sat in the freezer for about 10 months before I decided to actually attempt some ice-cream. Probably my favourite thing about being able to make my own ice-cream is the vast different flavours that can be played with. Last time I made some really yummy coconut and cookie dough ice-cream, so today I decided to try something a little bit more out there

Coconut Ice-Cream with Fig, Ginger, and Cookie-Dough: 

5 fresh figs 

5 tablespoons of water

Zest of 1 lemon

1/3 cup moist coconut flakes (can also use desicated coconut) 

2.5 cm piece ginger, minced

1/2 cup maple syrup 

1 cup coconut milk (2 cups) 

2/3 cup raspberries 

Directions:

First cut the figs in half and then dice in to smaller pieces

IMG_4595

 

Add the figs, coconut, ginger, lemon zest, and water in a small saucepan and keep over heat until figs are very soft

IMG_4600

Add in 1/4 cup of the raspberries and the maple syrup.

IMG_4603

Continue to stir while over heat until the mixtures thickens to a jam like consistency

IMG_4604

Spoon the mixture in to a bowl an refrigerate until cool

IMG_4609

Cookie Pieces:

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup coconut oil, melted

1/4 cup water

1 tablespoon peanut butter

2 teaspoons vanilla extract 

2 cups homemade oat flour

3/4 cup chopped dark chocolate

 In a large bowl mix together all the ingredients until fully combined

IMG_4611

Line a tray with baking paper. Roll small balls of the mixture out (about 1/4 teaspoon) and place on the tray. Put the tray in the freezer

IMG_4613

When the jam has cooled in the fridge blend it together with the 2 cups of coconut milk

IMG_4615

Place the mix in your ice-cream maker and follow the instructions as per the instructions

IMG_4616

When the ice cream is about 5 minutes away from being ready add in the remainder of the berries and the cookies dough pieces from the freezer

IMG_4627

 

IMG_4636

One thought on “My Kind of Ice-Cream

Leave a Reply

