The Versatile Bar

I am absolutely loving the hot weather in Melbourne at the moment. I forgot how much I love waking up to see sun outside (it’s a serious change from the grey sky and rain that I’ve grown so accustomed to over the last month!) When I got up this morning I was a seriously good mood – despite the fact that I have uni – and I decided that because I had limited time before I had to leave the house, I’d make something that I could have for both breakfast, and as a snack during my 2 hour Marketing lecture.

Immediately I turned to the humble Muesli Bar. There are so many different ways of making muesli bars, you can quite literally put in any nuts, fruits, or seeds!

Muesli Bar:

4 cups rolled oats

1 cup chopped almonds

1 cup shredded coconut

1/2 cup trail mix

3/4 dried cranberries

1/2 cup dried diced apricots

1/2 coconut oil

1/2 brown sugar

1/2 almond or peanut butter

1/2 brown rice syrup

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 teaspoons cinnamon

Directions:

Start by placing the oats, nuts, trail mix, dried fruit, coconut, and cinnamon in a large bowl and mix 

 

IMG_4525

 

In a saucepan heat the coconut oil, but butter, sugar, brown rice syrup, and vanilla  and stir until fully incorporated

 

IMG_4529

IMG_4530

Remove from the heat and pour over the dry ingredients. Mix well, ensuring that everything is evenly coated

IMG_4532

IMG_4535

Press down in to a lined 12″ x 8″ pan. Note: Make sure to press down firmly to ensure the mix stick together well, and therefore won’t fall apart when cooked. Bake in oven on 175C for 25 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool

IMG_4536

 

Once cool, cut in to even slices

 

 

IMG_4545

IMG_4553

Iced Mint + SkinnyMe Tea

As you can probably tell I’m a little obsessed with icing tea at the moment, and I’m continually very pleasantly surprised by how they turn out!

This morning I infused my Acai and ComplexionMe teabags in hot water for five minutes and then set it aside to cool.

IMG_4543

 

Once cooled I placed it in a jar with a handful of mint, a squeeze of lime and some ice cubes. It was just so incredibly refreshing that I ended up making another cup straight after!

IMG_4561

Final Product
IMG_4557

 

Leave a Reply

