The Perfect Snack

There are some foods that I reckon are just great to have in the house. Often, especially when a little bored, I turn to my kitchen to satisfy what some people call ‘phantom hunger’. It’s that sort of “I’m not hungry but really feel like eating” kind of thing that I’m sure majority of people are very familiar with. Now I know that when this comes along the appropriate thing to do is ‘drink some water’ or ‘eat a couple of nuts’, but the thing is, when I feel like eating (even if it’s not ‘true’ hunger) I feel like something substantial and very very tasty.

Now in my opinion having banana bread around the house is the perfect way to tackle this kind of hunger. Its not too savoury and not too sweet, rather that perfect in between. Be wary though, it’s the kind of banana bread that you will continually take small slices from until you realise that you’ve probably eaten the equivalent to 4 normal pieces in one sitting.

Banana Bread:

4 ripe bananas

1/2 cup rice bran oil

1 cup almond meal

1/2 raw caster sugar

2 cups oat flour

1 cup wholemeal flour (can use white flour if you don’t have wholemeal)

2 tablespoons almond milk

6 teaspoons baking powder

Directions: 

Pulse the oats in Magic Bullet or food processor until it is the consistency of flour

IMG_4202

Break the bananas in to small pieces and then mash

IMG_4205

Mix all the dry ingredients together in a bowl

IMG_4208

Mix in the banana and almond milk

IMG_4210

Pour in the oil and stir until combined

IMG_4213

Note: The mixture will be thick

IMG_4214

Spread mixture out in to a lined loaf pan and bake for 40 minutes on 180C (or until cake tester comes out clean)

IMG_4216
IMG_4251

IMG_4275

Served with mandarin infused water and dates

IMG_4270

My helper in the kitchen today: Jay (my youngest brother), who was utterly confused as to why I was taking photos of some bananas in a bowl.

IMG_4242

Leave a Reply

