My Kind of Morning

I particularly love the days when I have absolutely nothing planned. Not only does this mean I get to just lie in bed until I can be bothered dragging myself downstairs, but more importantly I get to spend as much time as I’d like making breakfast.

Not only was today one of those days, but it also seemed like a pop tart kind of day. However, when I say pop tarts, I’m not referring to the sugar packed American style ones that once upon a time I absolutely loved. These were much healthier, the kind that when in the oven radiated a smell that I can imagine coming from a freshly baked pie out in a cottage somewhere.

Ingredients: 

Raspberry Filling:

3 cups frozen raspberries

Just under 1/4 cup maple syrup

1 tablespoon flour

Crust: 

4 1/4 cup flour

1 cup rice bran oil

1 tablespoon of coconut oil

1 tablespoon vanilla

2/3 cup of water

IMG_3373

Heat the raspberries, flour and maple syrup in a pan. When the raspberries start to soften press on them with the back of a spoon. Take off the heat while there are still bits of raspberries. You dont want the mixture to be too liquidy otherwise it will leak out the sides of the pop tart.

IMG_3398

Place in bowl and put aside while you prepare the crust.

IMG_3408

Place all the ingredients for the crust,except the water, in a food processor and pulse until combined

IMG_3420

Slowly add water in through the top until the mixture comes together. If you are unsure you can test by rolling a medium size ball with the dough, it should be nice and smooth (not sticky or crumbly). If you have added too much water you can always put a little more flour in to even it out.

IMG_3429

Heavily flour a surface that you can roll the dough out on

IMG_3431

Split the dough in to two sections and roll in to balls (this step is just so you’re not working with so much dough when you’re rolling it out, it’s a lot easier when you do it in sections. Roll the dough out until it’s about 1/2 inch thick)

IMG_3455

Cut the sides of the dough so it’s an even rectangle. Place the remaining dough back on top

IMG_3437

Continue to roll out until it is about 1/8 inch thick. If your dough doesnt have straight edges you can always cut them straight and add the scraps to the other section of the dough.

IMG_3442

Cut the dough in to 11cm x 8cm rectangles (I would definitely use a ruler for this bit). Repeat all these steps for the other section of dough

IMG_3445

Place half of the rectangles on to trays lined with baking paper

IMG_3457

Spoon about 2 tablespoons of the berry filling on to each of the dough rectangles on the baking paper. Be very careful to leave space around the edges and to not put too much in otherwise it will leak out the side when in the oven.

IMG_3464

Place the top piece of dough on each and press down around the sides with a fork — try and do this as evenly as possible.

IMG_3469

Place in the oven (on 180) for about 20 minutes until slightly golden. Note: The pop tarts don’t change too drastically in colour, so don’t make the mistake of leaving them in for too long thinking they aren’t ready)

IMG_3483

IMG_3502

A few things that made this delicious breakfast even better:

A green tea: I should probably point out that I’ve always wanted to but have never really loved green tea. So this little box set of 9 green tea variations from T2 was an absolutely amazing present I got from some fantastic friends — suffice to say my green tea intake has definitely sky rocketed.


IMG_3475

A raspberry and orange juice crush: So quick, so simple and so delicious. Basically grab some frozen raspberries, ice and orange juice (the orange juice pictured is by far my favourite one. Rather than having a whole list of ingredients -like the artificial orange juices that I cannot stand – the ingredients on the back literally read 100% freshly squeezed orange juice.) and blend them up.

IMG_3472

IMG_3508

IMG_3519

My little kitchen companion Bear (I mean seriously, who doesn’t want a face like that staring up at them while they’re cooking!)

IMG_2914

Some ridiculously amazing reading: I was so happy to find that Julz, a sydney friend, had a new blog entry. So after making my drinks I still had a five minute window until the tarts were out of the oven. I honestly don’t think I could have filled my time any better!

IMG_3489

And because the sun was shining outside (and with melbourne it can be hot one moment and pouring the next) I decided to soak up a bit of vitamin D and eat my breakfast on the balcony overlooking the park.

IMG_3523

2 thoughts on “My Kind of Morning

Leave a Reply

