Ultimate Peanut Butter Cookie

I should probably start this post by letting you know that I have a serious love for cookies. Even before I was vegan and before I was cooking so much, cookies were always on the menu. Sometimes i probably think of myself as a bit too much of a cookie connoisseur, but to be honest I’m pretty happy with the title I’ve given myself.

I’ve baked a lot of cookies with peanut butter in them…and I mean a lot! But this is probably the first one where the peanut butter has been the star, rather than just a subtle flavour.

I made a whole heap of these, and my family (who are all non-vegan) absolutely loved them. I should note that i have three younger brothers, who are more than happy to tell me when they don’t like my cooking, so after they had their 5th cookie I was pretty happy they had given me the tick of approval.

Ingredients: 

1 cup oats

1 cup flour

1/3 cup peanut butter

2 tablespoon rice bran oil (can substitute for any bland oil such as canola or vegetable)

1 cup raw caster sugar

1/3 cup almond milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 cup dark chocolate – roughly chopped

Begin by preheating oven to 200C and lining a tray with baking paper. In large bowl mix together peanut butter, oil, sugar, milk and vanilla

IMG_2934

Add in the flour and baking soda, once combined add in the rolled oats

IMG_2941

Mix well. You should have a seriously delicious looking cookie dough at this point (be careful, I ended up eating a whole heap of the dough at this point – it’s really hard to resist)

IMG_2940

Mix in the chocolate bits, stir again. Scoop out a tablespoon of the mixture, roll in to balls and place on lined baking tray (don’t forget to leave space between each cookie)

IMG_2947

Press down slightly on each ball. You can use the back of a fork for this part, but personally I’m not a fan of the lines it leaves on the top of the cookies. Bake for 8-10 minutes

IMG_2950

And the final product! Perfectly crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside cookies!

IMG_2968

One thought on “Ultimate Peanut Butter Cookie

  1. Your blog looks great so far! I follow your Instagram and I loved it so much that I decided to check out your blog. I am a fairly new blogger too and I’m still trying to figure out this whole blogging world. If you have any questions about blogging, I will be happy to help you out if I can. You can email me at ruby0830@earthlink.net or comment on my blog 🙂 Good luck!

Leave a Reply

