Back to Basics

I’m going to be honest here, I haven’t always been a breakfast person. Before I discovered that I could actually cook (and believe me there was a time when I would ruin just about everything I would attempt) my mornings would consist of nothing but a very boring bowl of oats — and when I say boring I mean oats, water and some sugar.

I’m sure that isn’t the easiest thing to believe given the fact that majority of my instagram is filled with all sorts of breakfasts: muffins, cookies, cakes…you name it. In a strange turn of events it seems, that what was once a meal I would skip more often than I care to admit, to a meal that I quite literally look forward to!

However, sometimes a bowl of oats is just as satisfying! I should point out though, when I say ‘a bowl of oats’ I’m not referring to the oats I used to eat – I can safely say that the days of my bland oats are behind me. These days the bowl is packed with flavour….and a hell of a lot of colour.

Directions:

Mix 1 cup of oats with 1/2 cup of water, and 1/2 almond milk. Place in the oven fore 30 seconds, mix well, and then place in the oven for a further 30 seconds

IMG_3037

You can pick a whole heap of different toppings for oats, but probably my favourite combination is:

Strawberries

Passionfruit

Kiwi

Coconut

Cinnamon

Goji Berries

Seed Mix (buckwheat, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, linseeds, millet, chia, amaranth and poppy seeds)

IMG_3041

And then basically just pile on the ingredients!

IMG_3044

And the finishing product is a whole lot of deliciousness. Some people also tend to put maple syrup or sugar on their oats (I admit i used to do this) but I find that with the right ingredients you get enough sweetness.

IMG_3048

Baked Tangerine:

Ingredients

1 Tangerine

Cinnamon

Directions

Cut the tangerine in half and sprinkle with cinnamon

IMG_3034

Place both halves in the oven (on 200C) and bake for about 20 minutes – the tangerines will literally look like they are so juicy they are about to burst!

IMG_3058

Then couple this with some mint tea and lemon infused water

IMG_3054

IMG_3075

and you’re left with a seriously delicious breakfast

IMG_3069

Leave a Reply

